Siegfried Forever

Credits

Title :
Siegfried Forever
Cycle :
Siegfried's Swan Song [1]
Genre :
Dance, Quartet
Date of creation :
2006
Length :
60'
DIRECTION & CHOREOGRAPHY
Mauro Paccagnella
CHOREOGRAPHY & PLAY - Ben Fury (Mar/B), Mauro Paccagnella (I), Christophe Morisset (F), Stéphane Broc (F)
ORIGINAL LIVE MUSIC
Christophe Morisset (F), Ina Geerts (B), Stéphane Broc (F)
VIDEO
Stéphane Broc
DIRECTION ASSISTANT
Christophe Morisset (F), Ina Geerts (B)
COSTUMES
Fabienne Damiean
LIGHTING & TECHNICAL DIRECTION
Simon Stenmans
LIGHTING DIRECTION - Jef Philips (B)
SOUND & VIDEO DIRECTION
Benjamin Van Thiel (B)
PRODUCTION
Wooshing Machine
COPRODUCTION
Charleroi/Danses , Théâtre Les Tanneurs (Brussels)
WITH THE SUPPPORT OF
Wallonia-Brussels Federation, SACD, WBT/D, WBI
Siegfried forever defines itself as a constant and organic movement between genres. Dance, theatre, live music and video are at the service of an identity-based puzzle and they take part in the construction of a contemporary hypothetical Siegfried. Four performers (a former classical dancer, an actor-trombonist, a hip-hop artist and a video artist-cum-rocker) share the role of the protagonist.

Our Siegfried is the reflection of the Wagnerian hero plunged into the humdrum banality of daily life. His desire to change humanity's destiny and the ardour of his passions are made fragile by the uncertainty of our times.

He is honest and manipulative, sincere and cunning at the same time; he juggles between truth and false pretence, without fear of showing himself up as clumsy. He wants to persuade his audience that his stories are absolutely extraordinary, so as to cause a wave of emulation. But his movements, at once tender and threatening, are ruses invented to exorcise his fear of being forgotten, of disappearing. But how can we judge the heritage of history while at the same time question our desire to leave something in our wake?

This unlikely metamorphosed act from a romantic opera plunges us into the reflections of a Wagnerian hero who accumulates swindle and arrogance in order to escape a banal ending. But though his body may have lost the agility of yesteryear, his enthusiasm is in no way in jeopardy.

SIEGFRIED FOREVER was nominated at the Belgium French Press Prize as "best choreography 2006".

Video

Tour dates

June 15-16-17, 2006 - Danse à la Balsa, La Raffinerie, Brussels (B)
June 24, 2006 - Park In Progress 3 PEJA, INJEP Park, Marly-Le-Roy, Paris (F)
February 15 to 24, 2007 - Théâtre Les Tanneurs, Brussels (B)
18,19 april 2007 - Biennale de Charleroi/Danses, Charleroi (B)
19 may 2007 - Festival Nouvelles Danse Performance, Pôle Sud, Strasbourg (F)
June 9-10, 2008 -Théâtre Les Tanneurs, Brussels (B)
December 3-4, 2009 - Festival Made in Belgique, La Comédie, Saint-Etienne (F)
March 23-24-25, 2016 - Rerun, Centre Culturel Jacques Franck, Brussels (B)
2017 - Hong Kong Arts Centre, Hong Kong (tbc)

Press review

"THE SWEET RELIEF OF DRUNKENNESS..."
In art as in all things, maturity has some good sides. Especially when it allows the artist to develop their expression with tenfold strength, mastery and imagination. The Danse à la Balsa, Marni et Raffinerie festival is currently presenting a wonderful example of this with Mauro Paccagnella's new creation: a hilarious quartet with irresistible gags and flourishes of poetry culminating in a final dazzling duet.
With Siegfried forever, spectators are transported from reverie to laugh-out-loud scenes, from duet to quartet. And what a quartet. Mauro Paccagnella, Stéphane Broc, Christophe Morisset and Ben Benaji Mohammed burst onto the stage with crooks' faces and bodies rarely seen on a dance stage. With impenetrable gravity, they throw themselves into a mini choreography that tips its hat to "sleight of hand under villain's command." It's only the beginning but already the audience is in stitches. Soon we are completely under the spell of these four men's daring.
It is all the more impressive given that, without seeming to, they endeavour to really stick to the adventures of the mythical Siegfried, while adding their own dazzlingly contemporary touch. It would be a nonsense to try to explain such a performance, but the audience will not be quick to forget the incredible belly dance (to put it mildly) executed by Christophe Morisset, the tragic destiny of the male as recounted by Stéphane Broc, the appearance of Mauro Paccagnella as a legendary bird, as at ease with classical movement (with astounding use of the arms!) as with contemporary slides, Ben Benaji Mohammed's mind-blowing pirouettes along with the beer-drinking song as performed by the beer aficionados. Perhaps one way of reminding us that the football World Cup is taking place in Germany, and that, as a well-known slogan for beer here in Belgium has it, "Men know why"...
After this delirious festival, the final minutes showcase a magnificent duo between Mauro Paccagnella and Ben Benaji Mohammed. A perfect marriage of absolute poetry and fluidity between contemporary dance and hip-hop. Superb.

– JEAN-MARIE WYNANTS – Le Soir – June 16, 2006
a Download the full press review

Siegfried Forever

Info

Titre :
Siegfried Forever
Cycle :
Siegfried's Swan Song [1]
Genre :
Quatuor
Date de création :
2006
Durée :
60'
MISE EN SCENE & CHOREGRAPHIE
Mauro Paccagnella
WITH
Mauro Paccagnella, Stéphane Broc, Christophe Morisset, Ben Fury (ou Gaétan Bulourde, Harold Henning, Alessandro Bernardeschi)
MUSIQUE ORIGINALE LIVE
Christophe Morisset (F), Stéphane Broc (F)
CREATION VIDEO
Stéphane Broc (F)
AIDE à la DRAMATURGIE
Christophe Morisset (F)
COSTUMES
Fabienne Damiean
CREATION LUMIERES
Joz Deconinck (B)
REGIE LUMIERES
Jef Philips (B)
REGIE SON VIDEO
Benjamin Van Thiel (B)
PRODUCTION
Wooshing Machine
COPRODUCTION
Charleroi/Danses , Théâtre Les Tanneurs (Brussels)
AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE
Ministère de la Fédération Wallonie Bruxelles (Service de la Danse), SACD, WBI, WBTD
Siegfried Forever se définit comme un glissement constant et organique entre genres. Danse, théâtre, musique live et dispositif visuel sont au service d'un puzzle identitaire et participent à la construction d'un Siegfried hypothétique contemporain. Quatre corps d'hommes, plutôt ordinaires qu'exceptionnels, quatre interprètes (un ex-danseur classique, un tromboniste/comédien, un hip-hoppeur et un vidéaste/rockeur) se partagent le rôle du protagoniste.

Siegfried est le reflet d'un héros wagnérien plongé dans une réalité quotidienne et banale. Son désir de changer le destin de l'humanité et l'ardeur de ses passions sont fragilisés par l'incertitude de nos temps.

Siegfried est honnête et sournois, sincère et malin en même temps ; il jongle entre vérité et escroquerie, sans avoir peur de se dévoiler maladroit. Il veut convaincre que ses histoires sont absolument extraordinaires, pour provoquer un élan d'émulation. Mais ses gestes, à la fois tendres et menaçants, sont des astuces inventées pour exorciser sa peur de l'oubli, de la disparition. Comment juger l'héritage de l'histoire et en même temps questionner, sans mensonges, notre profond désir de laisser une trace ?

Cet improbable acte d'opéra romantique métamorphosé nous plonge dans les reflets d'un héros wagnérien qui multiplie escroqueries et arrogances pour échapper à une fin sans gloire. Mais si son corps a perdu l'agilité d'antan, son enthousiasme n'est en aucun cas vulnérable.


SIEGFRIED FOREVER a été nominé au :
- Prix de la presse francophone de Belgique comme meilleure chorégraphie 2006.


SIEGFRIED : TUEUR, HEROS OU VICTIME ?

Siegfried est un nom lié à l'opéra romantique allemand, mais il appartient au même titre à un imaginaire collectif négatif. Il est le héros de « L'Anneau du Nibelung » de Richard Wagner, mais sa mission de rédemption de l'humanité nous renvoie incontestablement au spectre d'une propagande politique manipulatrice et totalitaire. Le choix du nom de Siegfried se justifie donc pour ce qu'il renvoie dans l'imaginaire collectif et, de ce fait, par le fait qu'il ouvre la possibilité d'un questionnement provocateur et décalé sur nos intimes projections idolâtres.

Siegfried est le reflet d'un héros wagnérien plongé dans une réalité quotidienne et banale. Son désir de changer le destin de l'humanité et l'ardeur de ses passions sont fragilisés par l'incertitude de nos temps.

Si Siegfried est un tueur redoutable, il est surtout victime de son propre destin. Il voyage à la limite entre l'inconscience et la peur, dans une explicite insolence juvénile. Sa force dissimule la maladresse, sa noblesse masque l'ignorance, son courage cache l'insouciance. Il ne questionne pas son désir de laisser une trace dans l'histoire, mais il multiplie son arrogance pour échapper à une fin sans mémoire. Serons-nous prêts à le suivre dans sa lourde mission : galvaniser en ricochet la peur de la disparition ?
En lire + En lire –

Vidéo

Dates de tournée

15-16-17 Juin 2006 - Danse à la Balsa, La Raffinerie, Bruxelles (B)
24 Juin 2006 - Park In Progress 3 PEJA, Parc de l'INJEP, Marly-Le-Roy, Paris (F)
15 au 24 Février 2007 - Théâtre Les Tanneurs, Bruxelles (B)
18-19 Avril 2007 - Biennale de Charleroi/Danses, Charleroi (B)
19 Mai 2007, Festival Nouvelles Danse Performance, Pôle Sud, Strasbourg (F)
9-10 Juin 2008 - Théâtre Les Tanneurs, Bruxelles (B)
3-4 Décembre 2009 - Festival Made In Belgique, La Comédie, Saint-Etienne (F)
23-24-25 Mars 2016 - Reprise, Centre Culturel Jacques Franck, Bruxelles (B)
2017 - Hong Kong Arts Centre, Hong Kong (tbc)

Revue de presse

POURVU QU'ON AIT L'IVRESSE...
Avec Siegfried forever, on passe de la rêverie à l'éclat de rire et du duo au quatuor. Et quel quatuor. Mauro Paccagnella, Stéphane Broc, Christophe Morisset et Ben Benaji Mohammed débarquent sur le plateau avec des gueules de malfrats et des corps comme on en voit rarement sur un plateau de danse. Avec un sérieux imperturbable, ils se lancent dans une petite chorégraphie aux allures de « jeux de mains-jeux de vilains ». Ce n'est qu'un début, mais déjà on est plié de rire. On ne tardera pas à être totalement bluffé par l'audace de ces quatre cinglés.

C'est d'autant plus fort que, mine de rien, ils s'évertuent à coller vraiment aux aventures du mythique Siegfried, leur donnant cependant une touche nettement contemporaine. Il serait vain de vouloir raconter un tel spectacle, mais on n'est pas prêt d'oublier l'incroyable danse du ventre de Christophe Morisset, le destin tragique du mâle raconté par Stéphane Broc, les interventions musicales entre jazz et hard rock des deux précités, l'apparition de Mauro Paccagnella en oiseau de légende, aussi à l'aise dans la gestuelle classique que dans les glissements contemporains, les pirouettes hallucinantes de Ben Benaji Mohammed ou encore la chanson à boire des amateurs de bière. À l'issue de ce festival de délires, les dernières minutes offrent un duo magnifique entre Mauro Paccagnella et Ben Benaji Mohammed. Un mariage parfait, d'une fluidité et d'une poésie absolues entre la danse contemporaine et le hip hop. Superbe.
Jean-Marie Wynants – Le Soir – 16 juin 2006
a Télécharger l'ensemble de la revue de presse