Moonwalk - La Fonction Forme

Credits

Title :
Moonwalk - La Fonction Forme
Cycle :
Conti Sparsi [2]
Genre :
Dance conference, duet
Date of creation :
2014
Length :
60'
CONCEPT, SET & DANCE
Eric Valette & Mauro Paccagnella
TEXTS & DRAWINGS
Eric Valette
LIGHTING & TECHNICAL DIRECTION
Simon Stenmans
PRODUCTION
Wooshing Machine
COPRODUCTION
Les Halles de Schaerbeek - Bruxelles
WITH THE SUPPPORT OF
Wallonia-Brussels Federation, SACD, WBT/D, WBI
Moonwalk: In 1969, man walked on the moon. The human in question (American, white, male) inspired the dreams of millions of viewers. Technical progress and science were set to create a better world, for all. In 1983, Michael Jackson performed a moonwalk on NBC as he sang his number Billie Jean. Thanks to an illusionary leg movement, he seemed to move forward in slow motion though he was in fact moving backwards. The singer (American, Black? Male?) inspired millions of viewers.

Moonwalk - Function In Forms features two researchers. They have something to show us, to tell us, a project to present. But before we are carried off into the effective logic of discourse and images, bodies are measured as volume, as forms, as a space. Movements, manipulations, choreography, sounds, all seem to respond to a specific logic. This logic is not a clear one, however, as it combines many different evocations. Only when words come into play does the meaning become clear and fixed. But rhetoric races ahead, taking us where we do not want to go. And the body resists, forcing squeaks and rattles from the implacable machine of discourse.

Using the fascination for the formal perfection of a matchstick as a starting point, the functionalist Utopia of the 30s is extended little by little to design, to living space and then to the town, before finally confronting the super-modernity of Middle-Eastern cities like Dubai.
Using 20th century modernist theories (Bauhaus, Russian Constructivists, De Stijl, Le Corbusier, etc.), and via the body, drawing, and words, we provide a glimpse into how we live in the world today. Thus the universalist discourse of modern Western thought is extended and turned over, as if we were taking off a glove, and revealing everything this Western thought had left by the wayside: the reality of bodies, the diversity of geographies, cultures and individuals.

By combining the minimalist performances of Robert Morris, the falsely clinical universe of Absalon, and the playful manipulations of John Wood & Paul Harrison, our laboratory strives to move through modern heritage, with accuracy and humour, not to rehabilitate it or to yet again emphasise its failure, but rather to highlight the poetry that lies behind the danger of its implacable discourse. Show or performance? Dance or conference?
More Less

Video

Tour dates

April 4-5, 2014 - Halles de Schaerbeek - Brussels (B)
December 5, 2014 | Garage 29 - Brussels (B)
December 6, 2014 | Garage 29 - Brussels (B)
January 16, 2016 | Teatro della Lavanderia a Vapore - Turino (IT)

Moonwalk - La Fonction Forme

Info

Titre :
Moonwalk - La Fonction Forme
Cycle :
Conti Sparsi [2]
Genre :
Conférence dansée, duo
Date de création :
2014
Durée :
60'
CONCEPTION, REALISATION & INTERPRETATION
Eric Valette & Mauro Paccagnella
CHOREGRAPHIE
Mauro Paccagnella
TEXTES & IMAGES
Eric Valette
CREATION SONORE
Vincent Epplay
LUMIERES & REGIE
Simon Stenmans
COPRODUCTION
Les Halles de Schaerbeek - Bruxelles
Moonwalk : 1969, des hommes marchent sur la lune. L'homme (américain, blanc, de sexe masculin) fait rêver des millions de téléspectateurs, le progrès technique et la science allaient créer un monde meilleur, pour tous. 1983, Michael Jackson exécute sur la NBC un moonwalk sur son titre Billie Jean. Par un mouvement de jambes illusionniste, il semble avancer au ralenti alors qu'il se déplace au contraire en arrière. Le chanteur (américain, noir? De sexe masculin?) fait rêver des millions de téléspectateurs.

Moonwalk - La Fonction Forme met en scène deux chercheurs. Ils ont quelque chose à nous montrer, à nous dire, un projet à expliquer. Mais avant de nous entraîner dans la logique efficace du discours et des images, les corps se mesurent à des volumes, des formes, un espace. Les déplacements, les manipulations, la chorégraphie, les sons, semblent répondre à une logique précise. Mais cette logique n'est pas claire, elle croise de multiples évocations. C'est seulement quand la parole entre en scène que le sens se précise et se fixe. Mais la rhétorique s'emballe, nous entraîne là où on ne veut pas aller. Et le corps résiste, il fait grincer la machine implacable du discours.

En partant de la fascination pour la perfection formelle d'une allumette, l'utopie fonctionnaliste des années 30' est peu à peu élargie au design, à l'habitat, puis à la cité jusqu'à se confronter à la super modernité des villes du Moyen Orient (ex : Dubai).
A partir des théories modernistes du XXème siècle (Bauhaus, constructivistes russes, De Stijl, Le Corbusier, etc), avec le corps, le dessin, la parole, nous proposons d'observer la manière dont on habite le monde aujourd'hui. Le discours universaliste de la pensée occidentale moderne est ainsi prolongé puis retourné, comme on retire un gant, révélant tout ce qu'une telle pensée avait mis de côté : la réalité des corps, la diversité des géographies, des cultures et des individus.

En croisant les performances minimalistes de Robert Morris, l'univers faussement clinique d'Absalon, les manipulations ludiques de John Wood & Paul Harrison, notre laboratoire s'efforce de traverser avec précision et humour l'héritage moderne, non pas pour le réhabiliter ni pour, une fois de plus, souligner son échec, mais plutôt pour en extraire la poésie derrière le danger de son implacable discours. Un spectacle ou une performance? De la danse ou une conférence?
En lire + En lire –

Vidéo

Dates de tournée

4-5 Avril 2014 | Halles de Schaerbeek - Bruxelles (B)
5 Décembre 2014 | Garage 29 - Bruxelles (B)
6 Décembre 2014 | Garage 29 - Bruxelles (B)
16 Janvier 2016 | Teatro della Lavanderia a Vapore - Turin (IT)