Company

Historical
Mauro Paccagnella
Wooshing Machine

WOOSHING MACHINE is a brussel's dance theatre collective created in 1998 by choreographer Mauro Paccagnella. The group's activity is driven by a desire to achieve an act of shared creation, whether inside or outside the theatre arena.
His success is down to that intimate melting of languages as they collide and print over one another, gloriously disturbing our perceptions. With no concessions, yet open. Dark yet funny. Strange yet near. A look, a vision. (Patrick Bonté)
Company LOGOHISTORICAL

1998-2000 - THE EARLY TRILOGY
Mauro, dancer choreographer, Joz Deconinck, graphic & video artist, Didier Casamitjana, musician and performer and Florence Richard, lighting designer (Dame de Pic company), opened the doors to the new collective. At the crossroads of these four varied paths...
At the crossroads of these four unique paths, three episodes of musical dance theatre were born: CyberBeans (SACD Prize 1998), Wit and Formol.

2001-2004 - DOG-TRICKS
Following Mauro Paccagnella's latest meetings with visual artist Martin Pakvis, at Subsistances in Lyon, and with Alessandro Bernardeschi, (a dancer with Catherine Sagna), Woosh'ing Mach'ine renews its creative dynamic.
Thus the research project entitled Dog-tricks was born (2001-2004), a crossroads where plastic art, electronic music, video-art and dance met. In the context of a residency at La Raffinerie in Brussels, Mauro Paccagnella invited some fifteen artists from various disciplines to take part in a series of four stages of creation – laboratory: LabPilote with 12 guest artists, Zwaarden with Martine Lunshof, Le bal with Alessandro Bernardeschi, Crossover, a video installation by Deconinck and Wittevrongel. The project ended with the creation of the performance Babylonia Kiss, a duo created with Alessandro Bernardeschi in 2003.

2006-2011 - THE SIEGFRIED'S SWAN SONG PROJECT
The Siegfried's Swan song was born of Mauro's meeting with French video artist Stéphane Broc, French tuba-player and artist Christophe Morisset, and Belgian-Moroccan hip-hop artist Ben Fury.
The first two episodes, Siegfried forever and Bayreuth FM, have been nominated at the Belgian Press Prize as Best Choreography in 2006 and 2008.
The Golden Gala and Ziggy, the Dragon, the bold Nurse & the Swan Song have been presented in February 2010 and in November 2011 at the Tanneurs Theatre in Brussels.

2012-2015 - CONTI SPARSI
CONTI SPARSI is a series of solo and duet danced tableaux choreographed and set for the stage by Mauro Paccagnella in partnership with performers from diverse artistic horizons, such as Lisa Gunstone, Tijen Lawton, Gaëtan Bulourde, Eric Valette, Alessandro Bernardeschi, Ina Geerts, Ayelen Parolin, Christophe Morisset and Mauro himself.
For CONTI SPARSI, Mauro Paccagnella set himself a new challenge: to discover the accuracy of gestures and danced movements in a sober, sparse theatrical setting, and to return the primary role played by dance as regards form and substance.
More Less

Conti Sparsi
2013 - 2015
Creation cycle #4

#1. BLOOM Studio #1 + Studio #2 - 2013
#2. MOONWALK - Functions in Forme - 2014
#3. HARSH SONGS - 2014
#4. HAPPY HOUR - 2015
#5. OVERTHETOP - 2015
CONTI SPARSI is the new creation cycle from Mauro Paccagnella and Woosh'ing Machine, a series of short-medium length solos and duos.
The first show, BLOOM with Lisa Gunstone and Mauro Paccagnella, premiered on August 23, 2013 at Tallinn August Dance Festival.
The second show MOONWALK - Function in forms by Eric Valette and Mauro Paccagnella with Simon Stenmans was premiered at Les Halles in Brussels the 4 & 5 April 2014.
The third, HARSH SONGS, created by Mauro Paccagnella, Gaëtan Bulourde and TijenLawton, was presented at Théâtre Marni in Brussels D Festival in June 2014.
HAPPY HOUR, Alessandro Bernardeschi and Mauro Paccagnella duet, was premiered at the Hong Kong Art Center in Hong Kong in June 2015.
OVERTHETOP by Mauro Paccagnella, created and played by Ina Geerts and Ayelen Parolin, was presented in Brussels at the Brigittines in September 2015.

CONTI SPARSI was born of an artistic emergency for balance and sobriety and the desire for a space of choreographic research and creation free from the shackles of reference, created in small teams and on small scales, simple both in terms of creative process and its opportunities to connect with the audience.
CONTI SPARSI: A SERIES OF GEOMETRIC FORMS FOR A SERIES OF ADJACENT CHAMBERS.
Each CONTI SPARSI creation is defined within a geometric form (space for performance, air and light) put forward at the start of each project.
The form of a 4x4m square drawn on the ground will be the starting point.
Changes to this form as the project progresses will be the main thrust.

Simultaneously, the intersection of these geometric spaces and the dynamics of the protagonists' action will provide a narrative framework and a choreographic encasement.
Thus CONTI SPARSI will be a series of imaginary borders between the inner space of the performer and the world outside (geometrical, physical or imagined) that envelops and surrounds them.

Within this formal visual framework, the protagonists will be pushed towards an honest encounter with the audience, bearing witness to the personal unveiling of a sensitivity in movement and jostling against the boundaries of a given framework.
Read more See less Team
Lisa Gunstone (GB), Mauro Paccagnella (I), Tijen Lawton (GB), Gaëtan Bulourde (F), Eric Valette (F), Alessandro Bernardeschi (I), Ina Geerts (B), Ayelen Parolin (Ar), Christophe Morisset (F), Stéphane Broc (F), Simon Stenmans (B)

Siegfried's Swan Song
2006 - 2011
Creation cycle #3

Inaugurated in June 2006 at la Raffinerie in Brussels with Siegfried Forever and continuing through November 2007 and February 2010 with Bayreuth FM and The Golden Gala, the Siegfried's Swan Song project came to a close in November 2011 with its fourth and final part, Ziggy, the Dragon, the Bold Nurse & the Swan Song.

With a lifespan of 6 years, a creation in 4 parts, and comprising 7 performers, 4 composers, 3 engineers, a dresser, ad hoc co-workers and innumerable insolent nods to the work of the Grand Master Wagner, this atypical choreographic series offers a sideways look at the theatre, providing a glimpse of the distance that separates us from a controversial reference model and calling into question the balance of our tastes, our passions and our ideological leanings.

The radical nature of the Wagnerian universe seduced us with the daring of its populist observations regarding Heroism, Theatre and Society, and led us to question the direct links between tradition and contemporaneity, between theatre and politics.

However, it became evident that, rather than simply talking about Wagner, his music and his vision of the World, our focus was settling increasingly on his opera icons to question a model of romantic humanity that continues to arouse the desire of emulation and belonging.

SSS« The greatest event of my life took the form of a recovery. Wagner belongs only to my diseases. »
THE CASE OF WAGNER: A MUSICIAN'S PROBLEM Friedrich Nietzsche

The Siegfried's Swan Song is also an artistic project that defies the constraints of time, subverting the challenges of contemporary theatrical creation, which itself seems to be moving towards virilised and media-based event installations.

The tetralogy thus stands as an act of artistic resistance when facing the virtual fibrillation of a society that is falling victim to its speed of consumption and communication, held hostage by the insatiable nature of its own desire to succeed, distorted by the collapse of coherent and equitable reference trajectories.

The Siegfried's Swan Song is presented as a work of fiction that opens unobtrusively onto the world via a series of intimate, off-kilter confessions from a group of characters caught off-guard in their role play as actors / heroes for a day, slaves to a heroic destiny concocted by a useless divine plan, victims of a profound, intrinsic mediocrity, though not indignant in their desire for glory when faced with the inescapable fate of death and oblivion.

Although the Wagnerian tetralogy used as a reference, the 'Ring of the Nibelung', remains pinned down by a typically Germanic sense of heaviness, The Siegfried's Swan Song for its part opens onto the 21st century with all the fragility and insolence of its time.

It is a pot-pourri of uncool operatic arias, proletarian dances, clumsily populist comment, rustic humour, reckless loves and inappropriate prowess.

It is a festival of banality disguised as a choreographed series inside which we glimpse the sensitive breaches of a humanity that may be foolish, but is also profoundly touching.

It is a game where contemporary and classical choreographic art meet, where noble writings and popular refrains mingle, where video art and music television cross, and where Wagnerian opera and peripheral operetta touch: a clash of genres resulting in an act of playful, off-kilter and pop performance.

The Siegfried's Swan Song is performed and proposed in a mongrel-like theatre space, one that is degenerate and impure, at the frontier between the paths of its protagonists and their genre, a universe that is at once possible, sensitive and open.

The Siegfried's Swan Song takes its cue from Wagner to subsequently revel in its profound anti-Wagnerism.

For this reason, the Woosh'ing Mach'ine collective is pleased to announce its intention to bring to a successful conclusion this most atypical of artistic projects which defies categorisation, with the desire and pleasure of taking one last unobtrusive, chivalrous and wholly acute look.

Mauro Paccagnella
Read more See less Team
Lisa Gunstone (GB), Mauro Paccagnella (I), Benfury (Mar),
Ina Geerts (B), Christophe Morisset (F), Stéphane Broc (F),
Ayelen Parolin (Arg), Fabienne Damiean (B), Jef Philips (B),
Benjamin van Thiel (B), Simon Stenmans (B), Gwen Laroche (F),
Joz Deconinck (B)

Dog-tricks
2001-2004
Creation cycle #2

#0. Dog-Tricks#0, Lab pilote (2001)
#1. Zwaarden (2001)
#2. Le Bal & Crossover (2002)
#3. Babylonia Kiss (2003)
DOG-TRICKS is a multidisciplinary research project intended to allow the co-existence of different artistic approaches.
The creative process was developed through a series of laboratory stages for choreographic, musical and visual experiments that resulted in 3 creations: Zwaarden, Le Bal + Crossover and Babylonia Kiss.
Team
Karine Ponties (F), Alessandro Bernardeschi (I), Martine Lunshof (NL), Malik Choukrane (B), Mauro Paccagnella (I), Martin Pakvis (NL), Joz Deconinck (B), Erwin Wittevrongel (B), Pascal Tondeur (B), Didier Casamitjana (F), Alexandre Vert (F/GB), Annelaure Chamboissier (F)

The Early Trilogy
1998-2001
Creation cycle #1

#1. CyberBeans (1998)
#2. Wit (1999)
#3. Formol (2000)
THE EARLY TRILOGY
Perhaps it is through the impurity of genres and the mixing of registers that new languages are today being developed that may regenerate performing arts...

An attempt to create closer ties, collusions, dynamic exchanges between dance, theatre, music, and plastic arts... Explorations of areas that are hardly, if at all, defined, hybrid zones where the personality of the creator and spectator alike is free to travel where it sees fit, pushing boundaries and setting their own specific, inimitable challenges.

It is through these challenges that current research can get closest to the uncertainties and requests of our societies. With this in mind, this first Woosh'ing Mach'ine trilogy was born of the meeting of singular artists: a choreographer and dancer (Mauro Paccagnella), a musician and composer (Didier Casamitjana), a video artist (Joz Deconinck) and a lighting specialist (Florence Richard).

His success is down to that intimate melting of languages as they collide and print over one another, gloriously disturbing our perceptions. With no concessions, yet open. Dark yet funny. Strange yet near. A look, a vision. The idea that cyberspace, both inevitable and commercial, also has an underbelly, which is poor, heroic, banal and fascinatory.

An act of creation, a way of being on stage, blending humour, invention and presence.

Patrick Bonté
Team
Mauro Paccagnella (I), Didier Casamitjana (F), Joz Deconinck (B), Florence Richard (F)

Other Productions

. The Magnificent 4 (court métrage - 2008)
. Emerge (court métrage - 2005)
. Jiggery Pockery / Subalina (performance - 2005)

The Magnificent 4 - © Stéphane BrocTHE MAGNIFICENT 4
Short Film
France - 2008 - 7 min - Colour
Direction, Editing: Stéphane Broc
Image: Yves Opstaele
With: Mauro Paccagnella, Benfury, Christophe Morisset, Stéphane Broc
© Stéphane Broc



Emerge - © Stéphane BrocEMERGE
Short film
France - 2005 - 4 min - DV - Couleur
Direction, Image, Editing: Stéphane Broc
With: Benfury, Mauro Paccagnella, Ayelen Parolin
© Stéphane Broc



Jiggery - © Stéphane BrocJIGGERY POCKERY / SUBALINA
Performance
France/Paris - July 2005
Olympic Swimming pool at Park of l'INJEP, Marly-le-Roi (Paris)

Park in Progress #3 Pépinières Européennes pour Jeunes Artistes
Team
Various artists

La compagnie

Historique
Mauro Paccagnella
Wooshing Machine

5galacticosWOOSHING MACHINE est un collectif de danse théâtre bruxellois créé en 1998 par le chorégraphe et danseur Mauro Paccagnella.
L'activité du groupe se définit par le désir d'un acte de création partagé, à l'intérieur ou à l'extérieur du cadre théâtral.

Sa réussite tient à l'intime fusion des langages qui se confrontent et se surimpriment, et perturbent joyeusement nos perceptions. Et puis, surtout, l'univers ! Sans concessions, mais ouvert. Noir mais drôle. Étrange mais proche. Un regard, une vision. (Patrick Bonté)


Company LOGOUN OUTIL DE RECHERCHE ET DE CREATION ARTISTIQUE.

Wooshing Machine associe le travail de composition chorégraphique à un acte de recherche transdisciplinaire.
Les intentions dramaturgiques de chaque création de la compagnie ont créé des opportunités pour une réflexion et un questionnement ouverts et partagés entre un auteur et interprète chorégraphique, Mauro Paccagnella, et des collaborateurs d'horizons artistiques différents, à la recherche d'un élan de création collectif et d'un acte théâtral sans concessions.

Ce processus de création a produit des œuvres qui se révèlent dans la multiplicité de l'imagerie qui interroge le geste théâtral dans ses frottements subtils et subversifs entre forme et contenu, entre danse et théâtralité, entre contemporanéité et tradition.

Wooshing Machine se propose donc comme un outil de recherche et de création artistique qui met la danse, la parole, la musique et l'image à disposition d'un questionnement contemporain sur l'identité et l'appartenance, en utilisant le cadre théâtral comme une interface ouverte, non linéaire et fictionnelle, au delà des genres et au dessus des jugements.
Company LOGOHISTORIQUE

1998-2000 - THE EARLY TRILOGY
Mauro Paccagnella, danseur chorégraphe, Joz Deconinck, graphiste, Didier Casamitjana, percussionniste (collaborateur de Kasper Toeplitz et Art Zoyd), et Florence Richard, éclairagiste (cie Karine Ponties), fondent le nouveau collectif.
À l'intersection de ces quatre parcours singuliers prend forme trois volets de théâtre danse musical : CyberBeans (Prix SACD 1998), Wit et Formol.

2001-2004 - DOG-TRICKS
Suite aux rencontres de Mauro Paccagnella avec Martin Pakvis, plasticien, aux Subsistances de Lyon, et avec Alessandro Bernardeschi, danseur de la cie Caterina Sagna, Woosh'ing Mach'ine renouvelle ses dynamiques de création.
Naît le projet de recherche transdisciplinaire Dog-tricks.
Dans le cadre d'une résidence à la Raffinerie de Bruxelles, Woosh'ing Mach'ine invite une quinzaine d'artistes de différentes disciplines dans une série de plateformes de recherche : Dog-tricks#0, 2001, lab pilote (installation et performance, avec 12 artistes invités), Zwaarden, 2001 (solo de Martina Lusnhof, vidéo Deconinck Wittevrongel, musique Casamitjana), Le bal, 2002 (installation /performance avec huit artistes invités) et Crossover, 2002 (installation vidéo de Deconinck et Wittevrongel). Les Doglabs aboutissent à la création du spectacle Babylonia Kiss créé en collaboration avec Alessandro Bernardeschi en 2003.

2005 - JIGGERY POCKERY / SUBALINA
Mauro Paccagnella rencontre le vidéaste Stéphane Broc. Ensemble ils proposent Module Home, un projet conçu autour d'interventions d'artistes avec des ouvriers de chantier de la société Eurovia.
En juillet ils présentent Jiggery Pockery / Subalina, un projet créé pour « Park in progress 3 » / PEJA, à Marly-le-Roi (Paris) en collaboration avec The Third Person (GB), Ajelen Parolin (Arg) et Benaji Mohamed Ben(Mor/B).

2006-2011 - THE SIEGFRIED'S SWAN SONG PROJECT
Suite à la rencontre de Mauro et Stéphane Broc avec Christophe Morisset, comédien et tubiste français, et Ben Fury, un hip-hoppeur belgo marocain, naît The Siegfried's Swan Song.
Le premier épisode, Siegfried forever, a été nominé au Prix de la Critique belge 2006.
La compagnie présente le deuxième épisode de la tétralogie, Bayreuth FM, en novembre 2007 (nominé au Prix de la Critique 2008) et The Golden Gala, le troisième volet, en février 2010 au Théâtre les Tanneurs de Bruxelles.
Ziggy, the Dragon, the Bold Nurse & the Swan Song, quatrième et dernier épisode a été présenté en novembre 2011 au Théâtre les Tanneurs de Bruxelles.

2012-2015 - CONTI SPARSI
CONTI SPARSI est une série de tableaux dansés en solos et duos que Mauro Paccagnella chorégraphie et met en scène avec des interprètes de différents horizons artistiques tels que Lisa Gunstone, Tijen Lawton, Gaëtan Bulourde, Eric Valette, Alessandro Bernardeschi, Ina Geerts, Ayelen Parolin, Christophe Morisset et Mauro lui-même.
Pour CONTI SPARSI, Mauro Paccagnella s'impose un nouveau défi : découvrir la précision du geste et du mouvement dansé à l'intérieur d'un cadre de représentation sobre et dépouillé et redonner à la danse un rôle primaire dans la forme et le contenu.
En lire + En lire –

Conti Sparsi
2013 - 2015
Creation cycle #4

#1. BLOOM Studio #1 + Studio #2 - 2013
#2. MOONWALK - La Fonction forme - 2014
#3. HARSH SONGS - 2014
#4. HAPPY HOUR - 2015
#5. OVERTHETOP - 2015

CONTI SPARSI est le nouveau cycle de création de Mauro Paccagnella et Wooshing Machine et c'est une une série de solos, duos et trios de courte et moyenne durée.
Le premier volet BLOOM , composé de 2 solos avec Lisa Gunstone et Mauro Paccagnella, a eu sa première à Tallinn au August Dance Festival.
Le deuxième volet MOONWALK - La Fonction forme aura sa première aux Halles à Bruxelles les 4 et 5 avril 2014.
Le troisième, HARSH SONGS, créé et interprété par Mauro Paccagnella, Gaëtan Bulourde et TijenLawton, a été présenté au Théâtre Marni à Bruxelles pour le D Festival en juin 2014.
HAPPY HOUR, duo de et avec Alessandro Bernardeschi et Mauro Paccagnella, était en première au Hong Kong Art Center à Hong Kong en juin 2015.
OVERTHETOP de Mauro Paccagnella, créé et interprété par Ina Geerts et Ayelen Parolin, a été présenté en première aux Brigittines à Bruxelles en septembre 2015.

CONTI SPARSI naît d'une urgence artistique d'équilibre et de sobrieté et du désir d'un temps de recherche et de création chorégraphique libérée du jeu de référence, réalisé en petites équipes et en petits formats, simple dans son processus de création et dans ses possibilités de rencontre avec le public.
L'équipe
Lisa Gunstone (GB), Mauro Paccagnella (I), Tijen Lawton (GB), Gaëtan Bulourde (F), Eric Valette (F), Alessandro Bernardeschi (I), Ina Geerts (B), Ayelen Parolin (Ar), Christophe Morisset (F), Stéphane Broc (F), Simon Stenmans (B)
CONTI SPARSICONTI SPARSI : UNE SERIE DE FORMES GEOMETRIQUES POUR UNE SERIE DE CHAMBRES CONTIGÜES.
Chaque pièce de CONTI SPARSI se définit à l'intérieur d'une forme géométrique (espace de jeu, d'air et de lumière) proposé au début de chaque projet.
La forme d'un carré de 4m sur 4m dessiné au sol sera le point de départ.
La modification de cette forme dans la progression du projet sera un fil conducteur prioritaire.

L'intersection de ces espaces géométriques avec les dynamiques d'action des protagonistes offrira en même temps un cadre narratif et une enveloppe chorégraphique.
CONTI SPARSI sera ainsi une série de frontières imaginaires entre l'espace intérieur de l'interprète et le monde (géométrique, physique ou imaginaire) qui l'enveloppe et l'entoure.

C'est dans ce cadre visuel et formel que les protagonistes seront propulsés dans une rencontre franche avec le public, témoin d'un dévoilement au singulier, d'une sensibilité en mouvement et en frottement à l'intérieur d'un cadre donné.


UN PROJET SUR QUATRE ANS A LA DECOUVERTE DE LA "FONCTION FORME".
. Pour réaliser ses objectifs, Conti Sparsi se donne un temps de réalisation de quatre ans.
. Chaque spectacle sera créé en étapes laboratoires et en un mois et demi de création.
. Chaque projet sera indépendant, mais il pourra être en lien direct avec un volet antérieur.
. Les différentes pièces pourront faire l'objet d'un acte de création finale, dans le désir de donner vie à une prise de parole multiple qui part du singulier pour s'ouvrir au monde.
. Les chambres de CONTI SPARSI pourraient alors être présentées comme une série de portraits dansés dans des lieux différents d'un même bâtiment et se révéler comme un puzzle identitaire décalé et singulier pour des voix en solo ou en duo qui demandent de se montrer en choeur.
En lire + En lire –

Siegfried's Swan Song
2006 - 2011
Creation cycle #3

Inauguré en juin 2006 à la Raffinerie de Bruxelles et développé au Théâtre les Tanneurs en novembre 2007 et en février 2010, le projet The Siegfried's Swan Song clôture son parcours en novembre 2011 avec le 4ème volet Ziggy, the Dragon, the Bold Nurse & the Swan Song.

Avec ses 6 années de vie, ses 4 volets de création, ses 7 interprètes, ses 4 compositeurs, ses 3 régisseurs, sa costumière, ses collaborateurs périodiques et ses innombrables clins d'œil insolents à l'œuvre du Grand Maître Wagner ce feuilleton chorégraphique atypique se propose en regard théâtral détourné, vérifie la distance qui nous sépare d'un modèle de référence controversé et questionne l'équilibre de nos goûts, de nos passions et de nos appartenances idéologiques.

La radicalité de l'univers Wagner nous a séduit pour l'audace de ses propos populistes sur Héroïsme, Théâtre, Vie et Société, et elle nous a renvoyé à un questionnement sur les liens directes entre tradition et contemporanéité, entre théâtre et politique.

Mais c'est évident que, plus que parler de Wagner, de sa musique et de sa vision du Monde, notre intérêt s'est dirigé vers ses icônes d'opéra pour questionner un modèle d'humanité romantique qui continue à provoquer un étrange désir d'émulation et d'appartenance.

L'équipe
Lisa Gunstone (GB), Mauro Paccagnella (I), Benfury (Mar),
Ina Geerts (B), Christophe Morisset (F), Stéphane Broc (F),
Ayelen Parolin (Arg), Fabienne Damiean (B), Jef Philips (B),
Benjamin van Thiel (B), Simon Stenmans (B), Gwen Laroche (F),
Joz Deconinck (B)
SSS« Le plus grand événement de ma vie fut une guérison. Wagner n'appartient qu'à mes maladies. »
LE CAS WAGNER - UN PROBLEME MUSICAL Friedrich Nietzsche
................

The Siegfried's Swan Song est un projet artistique qui défie les contraintes du temps et qui détourne les enjeux d'une dynamique de création théâtrale contemporaine de plus en plus poussée vers des modèles événementiels virilisés et médiatisés.

La tétralogie de Woosh'ing Mach'ine s'affirme comme un acte de résistance artistique face à la fibrillation virtuelle d'une société victime de la vitesse de la consommation et de la communication, otage de l'insatiabilité de son propre désir de réussite, altéré par l'essoufflement de trajectoires de référence cohérentes et équitables.

The Siegfried's Swan Song se propose comme une feinte qui s'ouvre discrètement sur le monde à travers une série de confessions intimes et décalées d'un groupe de personnages surpris dans leur jeu de rôle d'acteurs / héros pour un jour, esclaves d'un destin héroïque concocté par un inutile dessin divin, victimes d'une profonde et intrinsèque médiocrité mais pas pour autant indignes dans leur désir de gloire face à un sort inéluctable de mort et d'oubli.

Et si la tétralogie wagnérienne de référence, le Ring des Nibelung, reste enfermée dans une lourdeur typiquement germanique, The Siegfried's Swan Song s'ouvre au XXI siècle avec toute la fragilité et l'insolence qui sont propres à son temps : un pot-pourri d'airs d'opéra démodés, de danses prolétariennes, de propos maladroitement populistes, d'humours rustres, d'amours impudents et de prouesses fautives.

C'est un festival de la banalité déguisé en feuilleton chorégraphique à l'intérieur duquel on devine des brèches sensibles d'une humanité balourde mais profondément touchante.

C'est un jeu de croisement entre art chorégraphique contemporain et classique, entre écritures nobles et refrains populaires, entre vidéo art et clip musical, entre opéra wagnérien et opérette de périphérie : un clash de genres pour un acte spectaculaire amusé, décalé et pop.

The Siegfried's Swan Song s'expose et se propose en espace théâtral bâtard, dégénéré, impur pour laisser entrevoir, à l'intersection des parcours de ses protagonistes et de leur genre, un univers possible, sensible et ouvert.

The Siegfried's Swan Song se nourrit de Wagner pour révéler son profond anti-wagnérisme.
C'est pour cette raison que le collectif Woosh'ing Mach'ine a l'honneur d'annoncer son envie de porter à bon terme un projet artistique atypique et inclassable, dans le désir et le plaisir d'un regard discret, galant et drôlement pointu.

Mauro Paccagnella
En lire + En lire –

Dog-tricks
2001-2004
Creation cycle #2

#0. Dog-Tricks#0, Lab pilote (2001)
#1. Zwaarden (2001)
#2. Le Bal & Crossover (2002)
#3. Babylonia Kiss (2003)
Dog-tricks est un projet de recherche pluridisciplinaire qui entend faire cohabiter des approches artistiques différentes.
Le processus de création s'est développé à travers une série d'étapes laboratoires pour des expérimentations chorégraphiques, musicales et visuelles qui ont abouti à 3 créations : Zwaarden, Le Bal + Crossover et Babylonia Kiss.
L'équipe
Karine Ponties (F), Alessandro Bernardeschi (I), Martine Lunshof (NL), Malik Choukrane (B), Mauro Paccagnella (I), Martin Pakvis (NL), Joz Deconinck (B), Erwin Wittevrongel (B), Pascal Tondeur (B), Didier Casamitjana (F), Alexandre Vert (F/GB), Annelaure Chamboissier (F)
DOG-TRICKSDOG-TRICKS
Le chien (DOG) est un animal qui fuine partout, par curiosité ou par faim.
L'artifice (TRICK) est l'art de cacher ce qu'on pense n'avoir pas vu.
Dog-Tricks est un espace-temps trouble et hybride, un château qui donne refuge à qui a été surpris par la nuit dans le voyage : voyageurs occasionnels ou invités, chiens curieux ou affamés, cortèges royaux ou simples majordomes.

Dog-tricks tente à travers différents tableaux chorégraphiques de confronter des états d'être autour de deux thèmes : le désir et l'exil.
Comment vivent des êtres en perpétuelle stagnation entre isolement (exil) et besoin (désir) ? Qu'est-ce qui les animent dans cette recherche d'un état ou d'un autre...?
Les artistes invités à la réalisation du projet sont placés à l'intérieur d'un espace intime, où ils sont amenés à se confronter dans un jeu de paradoxes. L'autre, quel qu'il soit, peut prendre forme d'un double ou se révéler comme un élément dissonant.
En lire + En lire –

The Early Trilogy
1998-2001
Creation cycle #1

#1. CyberBeans (1998)
#2. Wit (1999)
#3. Formol (2000)
Peut-être est-ce à travers l'impureté des genres et le mélange des registres que s'élaborent aujourd'hui les nouveaux langages susceptibles de régénérer les arts de la scène...

Tentative d'opérer des rapprochements, des collusions, des échanges dynamiques entre danse, théâtre, musique, arts plastiques... Explorations de domaines peu ou mal balisés, des zones hybrides où la personnalité du créateur comme du spectateur est libre de voyager à sa guise en bousculant les frontières et en se fixant ses propres défis, particuliers et inimitables.

La recherche actuelle, c'est à travers ces enjeux-là qu'elle est la plus en prise avec les incertitudes et les demandes de nos sociétés. C'est dans cette voie que se profile cette première trilogie de Woosh'ing Mach'ine née de la rencontre d'artistes singuliers : un chorégraphe et danseur (Mauro Paccagnella), un musicien compositeur (Didier Casamitjana), un vidéaste (Joz Deconinck) et une éclairagiste (Florence Richard).

Sa réussite tiens à l'intime fusion des langages qui se confrontent et se surimpriment, et perturbent joyeusement nos perceptions. Et puis, surtout, l'univers! Sans concessions, mais ouvert. Noir mais drôle. Étrange mais proche. Un regard, une vision. L'idée que l'inévitable et commercial cyberspace a aussi son envers, et que celui-ci est pauvre, héroïque, banal et fascinatoire.

Un acte de création, une façon d'être en scène, dans l'humour, l'invention et la présence.

Patrick Bonté
L'équipe
Mauro Paccagnella (I), Didier Casamitjana (F), Joz Deconinck (B), Florence Richard (F)
TRILOGIEWooshing Machine mouille, macère, assouplit, refroidit ou réchauffe, égoutte ou trempe, puis centrifuge, frotte, bouscule, frappe, griffe, caresse et vibre aux vitesses programmées, doucement ou violamment selon les humeurs.

Wooshing Machine nait début 1988 de la rencontre de Mauro Paccagnella (danseur / auteur / chorégraphe), Didier Casamitjana (percussioniste / compositeur / mover), Joz Deconinck (plasticien / vidéaste) et Florence Richard (light designer).

À l'intersection de ces quatre parcours singuliers se sont construit trois volets: CyberBeans, Wit et Formol, batis sur un univers artistique hybride et complementaire, "paradoxe des légumineuses virtuelles de la recherche et du désir d'inventer un espace temps clos et universel".
En lire + En lire –

Autres Productions

. The Magnificent 4 (court métrage - 2008)
. Emerge (court métrage - 2005)
. Jiggery Pockery / Subalina (performance - 2005)


The Magnificent 4 - © Stéphane BrocTHE MAGNIFICENT 4
Court-métrage
France - 2008 - 7 min - Couleur
Réalisation, Montage : Stéphane Broc
Image: Yves Opstaele
Avec : Mauro Paccagnella, Benfury, Christophe Morisset, Stéphane Broc
© Stéphane Broc



Emerge - © Stéphane BrocEMERGE
Court-métrage
France - 2005 - 4 min - DV - Couleur
Réalisation, Image, Montage : Stéphane Broc
Avec : Benfury, Mauro Paccagnella, Ayelen Parolin
© Stéphane Broc



Jiggery - © Stéphane BrocJIGGERY POCKERY / SUBALINA
Performance
France/Paris - Juillet 2005
Piscine olympique au Park de l'INJEP, Marly-le-Roi (Paris)

Park in Progress #3 Pépinières Européennes pour Jeunes Artistes
L'équipe
Various artists